Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Three Women Received The Nobel Peace Prize For 2011

Last Friday was a good day for women empowerment as this year’s Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to three women for their nonviolent role in promoting peace, democracy and gender equality. These women are President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, the first woman to be elected President in modern Africa, her countrywoman Leymah Gbowee, who is a peace activist, and Tawakkol Karman of Yemen, a pro-democracy campaigner.

These women were acknowledged for their outstanding contribution in bringing change for good in their respective nations. Thorbjorn Jagland, a former Norwegian prime minister who heads the Oslo-based Nobel committee read the citation in announcing the winners, “We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

These three women were the first to win the prize in 7 years since Wangari Maathai of Kenya won in 2004. Jagland also described the prize as “a very important signal to women all over the world.” Most of the recipients in the award’s 110-year history have been men, so this award will inspire women all over the world to fight for their rights and causes.

Congratulations to these wonderful women for their excellent win!

-Nisha Noor